Just An Egyptian

Downtown Cairo on January 29 2011, people walking in every direction smiling -Which is unusual-, the smell of tear gas is still in the air and my face is still burning from the day before. Almost 14 hours passed since I saw the first tank taking the streets and my mind wouldn’t stop thinking if they were “those good pro-revolution” soldiers or were they there to help the police kill more protesters.

The days have passed with the struggle against the Superior Council of the Armed Forces with many tortured, arrested and killed and finally we got stuck in a bottleneck forced to choose between the military and an Islamist. I boycotted the elections and I’m still proud of taking such decision. Morsi had only 5 million votes and people who understood the danger of the military rule pushed him to win by 51% after all his promises for a…

View original post 530 more words