Art of eVan

210SpiritsAndParticlesematted

I thought I’d post this painting now since it’s getting near to Halloween 2013. I finished this painting back in 2004. I figured it would be a good painting to show online with my online galleries because it’s sort of a darker theme that has owls flying around in it.

Back in 2004, I had been imagining an idea I liked to call the “mud-ball planet.” I had been having some dreams of exploring the surfaces of other planets like a satellite, and watching the landscapes and oceans move over time. It almost sort of seemed like a complex computer program or something.

I wanted to give life to this idea of a mud-ball planet, or a planet constructed on living mud. It has associations with potters and sculptors, and how they work with the earth’s clay. And of course the western Bible depicts humans as being creatures constructed from…

View original post 189 more words